Wednesday, January 23, 2019

ASCOCC elections approach

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In the midst of the “Vote OR Vote” campaign on campus and the beginnings of the 2018 midterm congressional elections, it can be easy to miss smaller...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...

Psychology students cancel plans for field study program

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Four Central Oregon Community College students had to cancel their plans for a field study program in Indonesia due to a lack of funds. Assistant Professor of...

Oregon Promise to reach more students with budget adjustment

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) During a nationwide discussion of what should be done over the rising price of education, Oregon took a unique step in implementing the Oregon Promise grant. The...

“Dateline” NBC covers COCC tragedy

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) Central Oregon faced a tragedy in July of 2016 in the sexual assault and murder of Kaylee Sawyer on the Central Oregon Community College Bend campus. With...

Three unopposed candidates fill ASCOCC positions for 2018-19

By Katya Agatucci and Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu & hwelbourn@cocc.edu) The Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College elections have officially closed, and the 2018-2019 council has been elected. The three positions that were...

COCC now offering GED testing service

Central Oregon Community College has begun offering the General Educational Development—or GED—test. The first tests were given this week at the COCC Crook County Open Campus in Prineville. The High Desert Educational Service District had...

Democrats push for DACA: 2018 Government shutdown

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi2@cocc.edu) On Jan. 20, the United States federal government shutdown. A major event in political and government history, yet not as dramatic as it may sound. In fact,...

Warmer winter: what does it mean?

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) It’s undeniable that here in Bend, our winter has been significantly different from what it was in 2017. If you by chance watch the news or have...

ASCOCC starts the new year with changes to staff and operation

Changes are coming to the Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College. Their first two meetings, which took place Jan. 10 and Jan. 18, were partially dedicated to discussing the working draft of ASCOCC’s...