Sunday, August 18, 2019

Psychology students cancel plans for field study program

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Four Central Oregon Community College students had to cancel their plans for a field study program in Indonesia due to a lack of funds. Assistant Professor of...

Attempted theft on campus heightens student awareness

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) At the beginning of spring term, students were notified of an “attempted assault” that was later relabeled an “attempted theft” at Central Oregon Community College, reported by a student....

Oregon Promise to reach more students with budget adjustment

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) During a nationwide discussion of what should be done over the rising price of education, Oregon took a unique step in implementing the Oregon Promise grant. The...

Race heats up for seat representing C.O.

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In a representative democracy, representatives are chosen to make governing decisions on the people's behalf. In the case of Central Oregon, which is situated square in the...

ASCOCC elections approach

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In the midst of the “Vote OR Vote” campaign on campus and the beginnings of the 2018 midterm congressional elections, it can be easy to miss smaller...

Three unopposed candidates fill ASCOCC positions for 2018-19

By Katya Agatucci and Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu & hwelbourn@cocc.edu) The Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College elections have officially closed, and the 2018-2019 council has been elected. The three positions that were...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...

COCC now offering GED testing service

Central Oregon Community College has begun offering the General Educational Development—or GED—test. The first tests were given this week at the COCC Crook County Open Campus in Prineville. The High Desert Educational Service District had...

Gun control: Is this what we should be teaching teachers?

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Following the Parkland, Fla. shooting, controversy spread across the country, as people were fed up with the lack of change in regulations surrounding gun violence. “With a...

What does science say about stress? A talk by Dr. Rebecca Walker-Sands

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Did you know that actors who have won an Oscar tend to live about three years longer than those who haven’t? Dr. Rebecca Walker-Sands explains this phenomenon...