Sunday, February 25, 2018

Black History Month: challenging our past and honoring our heroes

(click image below for expanded view) Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) What was once “Negro History Week,” Black History Month pays tribute to those...

No sanctuary is safe

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) Center of Immigration Studies show that since 1987, Oregon has been strict on what information local authorities...

#MeToo: The movement reaches a peak during high profile award shows,...

Me too. A simple pair of words that has done more to combat sexual assault in a few months than the law or anything...

Local Safety

When Winter Calls

We want to know how you get around town!

For some people in Bend, getting from point A to point B is as simple as getting in their Subaru Outback and hitting the...

College and Contraceptives

By Isaac Messinger | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu) In an era where sexual freedom is becoming more widely accepted and sometimes even encouraged, it's more...

Column: Time to Listen

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: Mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Men of the world, I get it. As long as we can remember, we've been taught that...

Get competitive: Find your sport at COCC

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) Here at Central Oregon Community College, we have two primary sporting opportunities for students: intramural sports, which...

Once in a blue moon: January lunar eclipse bleeds red

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On Jan. 31 of this year, the full moon was particularly unique for a few reasons. The...

Bobcat Rugby: Undefeated Fall Season Club Dedicates Season to Fallen Teammate

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) The Central Oregon Community College rugby club has had two undefeated seasons since it was founded. In...

COCC’s gallery of trees

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Did you know that Central Oregon Community College is an arboretum? What is an arboretum? It’s “a...

An art exhibit motivated from natures perfect designs, patterns and colors

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) “To me, these pieces are alive. If you cracked open in the spring, they would grow.” -Lynn...

COCC campus’ natural diversity creates wildlife melting pot

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) If you attend classes around campus, you know that there is a resident deer family on campus....

Why Bruno deserved his win (please don’t crucify me)

By Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu) Kendrick Lamar is a great artist worthy of winning Grammys — and he gets them. He received...

The Grammys: garbage

By Isaac Messinger | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu) The 60th Grammy Awards, an award show that consisted of a panel of judges who were replaced...

Carl’s Corner: What a difference a year makes

By Carl Swanson | The Broadside (Contact: cswanson@cocc.edu) Last January, Bend set a record for the most amount of snow in three-day time span. There was...

What Makes You Happy?