Sunday, April 22, 2018

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also...

Gun control: Is this what we should be teaching teachers?

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Following the Parkland, Fla. shooting, controversy spread across the country, as people were fed up with the...

CPS’ change of roster

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) Spring term is coming with more changes than class schedules. Don Doughty, the current director of Campus...

Local professor offers insight into the brains of serial killers

How is a serial killer created? A recent talk by Rebecca Walker-Sands, professor of psychology, shed some insight into the things which drives some...

Best breakfast in Bend

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Bad Wolf Bad Wolf Bakery and Bistro used to provide the COCC cafe with baked goods during the...

Are you informed?

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) There is no nice or acceptable way to frame nor define mass shootings, but in our country,...

When the sun shines

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) “Spring around here is still winter,” said Tim Peterson, Health and Human Performance Chair at Central Oregon...

Get competitive: Find your sport at COCC

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) Here at Central Oregon Community College, we have two primary sporting opportunities for students: intramural sports, which...

Once in a blue moon: January lunar eclipse bleeds red

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On Jan. 31 of this year, the full moon was particularly unique for a few reasons. The...

Campus festival celebrates Year of the Dog

By Isaac Messinger and Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu and kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On the 15th day of the first month in the lunisolar year, people...

Reverence for civil rights movement figures: “The Meeting”

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: katyaagatucci2@cocc.edu) In honor of the 10th Season of Nonviolence, members of the Afrocentric Studies Club came together to...

Letting Go: A lifetime as an artist transformed

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A year’s-worth of artwork was thrown away when Mark Edward Fuller decided that the pieces created to...

Review: “Love, Simon” (SPOILERS)

By Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu) LGBTQ+ representation in films and TV was once limited to one flamboyant, over-the-top, token gay character. I’ve...

Generation Columbine

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Those born on or after the year 1999, are being referred to as “Generation Columbine.” Isn’t that...

Not in our town

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) In conjunction with their commitment toward A Season for Nonviolence, the Central Oregon Community College Multicultural Activities...