Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Oregon Promise to reach more students with budget adjustment

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) During a nationwide discussion of what should be done over the rising price of education, Oregon took...

Psychology students cancel plans for field study program

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Four Central Oregon Community College students had to cancel their plans for a field study program in...

Race heats up for seat representing C.O.

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In a representative democracy, representatives are chosen to make governing decisions on the people's behalf. In the...

Finding importance in your syllabi

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) As stated on the Central Oregon Community College website, professors are required to provide students with a syllabus...

What’s up with that coffee hut?

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) A small structure located in the upper campus next to Jefferson used to be a well-known food...

Disability Services creates healthy learning environment for all

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Striving to build a better learning environment for all, Central Oregon Community College’s Disability Service offices provide services...

Are you informed?

Empowerment is RAD

Bend’s best bagels

Cold, dark, and quiet: Central Oregon caves

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Central Oregon has many natural wonders, including any number of caves. Due to the volcanic climate, the...

When the sun shines

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) “Spring around here is still winter,” said Tim Peterson, Health and Human Performance Chair at Central Oregon...

Get competitive: Find your sport at COCC

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) Here at Central Oregon Community College, we have two primary sporting opportunities for students: intramural sports, which...

Giving students the mic

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To celebrate National Poetry Month, Wickiup Hall was packed on April 19 as poets and performers presented...

Fiesta Celebración filled with food, festivities, and fun

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) As Mexican music sang out and dancers tapped across the floor, the annual Latino “Fiesta Celebración” held in...

Sprouting up sustainability this spring

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To share in the excitement of warm months approaching and the crops that come along with it,...

Health care options remain scarce on campus

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Some may find it a bit unusual that a man is discussing health concerns for women on...

Understanding the relativity of privilege

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Over the years, I've worked with students from all corners of this state and country, ranging from...

A very tasty child

By Spencer Light | The Broadside (Contact: slight@cocc.edu) It’s funny how the simplest of beginnings — a small deed, some kind words, or even a...