Saturday, December 14, 2019

Photos: A tour around Central Oregon Community College

By Luke Reynolds/For The Broadside Luke Reynolds is a student at Central Oregon Community College. Reach him at lreynolds2@cocc.edu. This story was produced as part...

Oldest student in the room at COCC? Don’t sweat it

On her first day of Writing 121, Hannah Flaherty knew she recognized her instructor from somewhere. After briefly wracking her brain, it dawned on...

Exploring ‘Pulchritudinous,’ COCC’s latest art exhibit

By Emma Evenhus/For The Broadside  Devan Horton’s “Pulchritudinous” is one of the latest art exhibits at Central Oregon Community College, and is on display through...

Get to know Art history professor Jason Lamb

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) From the art of Mohenjo Daro to Piet Mondrian, Central Oregon Community College Art History Professor Jason...

“Creating a God”: Anthropologist describes artistic developments in Bhutan

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) ‘How can contemporary art education influence the way we develop a sense of morality and ethics?’ asked...

Getting to know your campus: The origins of COCC’s building names

By Adam Case| The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Walking around the campus, have you ever wondered, ‘Why is the campus center named Coats?’ This and any...

Cold, dark, and quiet: Central Oregon caves

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Central Oregon has many natural wonders, including any number of caves. Due to the volcanic climate, the...

When the sun shines

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) “Spring around here is still winter,” said Tim Peterson, Health and Human Performance Chair at Central Oregon...

Exploring ‘Pulchritudinous,’ COCC’s latest art exhibit

By Emma Evenhus/For The Broadside  Devan Horton’s “Pulchritudinous” is one of the latest art exhibits at Central Oregon Community College, and is on display through...

BFA student exhibitions at OSU- Cascades give the community a ...

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) After years of dedication to their work and education, two artists emerged into the creative community from...

Rotunda Gallery features student submissions

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) For the eighth annual year, the Rotunda Gallery gave students an opportunity to showcase their talents at...

Carls Corner: The cause of lightning

By Carl Swanson | The Broadside (Contact: cfswanson@cocc.edu) When lightning, occurs when there is electrical discharge in or around a thunderstorm. The three most common...

Understanding movement

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Moving has many  direct or indirect meanings, whether it’s changing your location of residence, your job, your...

Starting the search for summer jobs

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Many of you are probably scratching your head and asking: “what am I going to do for...