Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Race heats up for seat representing C.O.

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In a representative democracy, representatives are chosen to make governing decisions on the people's behalf. In the case of Central Oregon, which is situated square in the...

ASCOCC elections approach

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In the midst of the “Vote OR Vote” campaign on campus and the beginnings of the 2018 midterm congressional elections, it can be easy to miss smaller...

Attempted theft on campus heightens student awareness

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) At the beginning of spring term, students were notified of an “attempted assault” that was later relabeled an “attempted theft” at Central Oregon Community College, reported by a student....

Local voices speak out on possible end to DACA

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) This presidential term is one full of changes at a moment’s notice; on September 5, President Donald Trump announced the end of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals,...

Student government looks ahead to upcoming elections

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) The students behind Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College push for the betterment of COCC’s students, with a mission to “Represent and serve all students by...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...

Gun control: Is this what we should be teaching teachers?

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Following the Parkland, Fla. shooting, controversy spread across the country, as people were fed up with the lack of change in regulations surrounding gun violence. “With a...

CPS’ change of roster

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) Spring term is coming with more changes than class schedules. Don Doughty, the current director of Campus Public Security at Central Oregon Community College is stepping down...

Secretary of State fired, replaced by CIA Chief

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) President Donald Trump took to Twitter to announce that CIA chief Mike Pompeo would be taking over the role of Secretary of State from former Exxon Executive...

What does science say about stress? A talk by Dr. Rebecca Walker-Sands

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Did you know that actors who have won an Oscar tend to live about three years longer than those who haven’t? Dr. Rebecca Walker-Sands explains this phenomenon...