Thursday, February 22, 2018

Warmer winter: what does it mean?

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) It’s undeniable that here in Bend, our winter has been significantly different from what it was in 2017. If you by chance watch the news or have...

Are adults not old enough?

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) Oregon is the fifth state in the nation to raise the legal age of purchasing tobacco to 21. At the beginning of the year, the state legislature...

News analysis: A backlash on nixing net neutrality

By Isaac Messinger | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger2@cocc.edu) Toward the end of 2017, the Federal Communications Commission voted to decide the fate of a  free and open use of the internet, otherwise known as net...

Local Safety

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) Campus Public Safety is unfortunately not very publicly known by the student body at Central Oregon Community College. The students who do know more of CPS tend...

When Winter Calls

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) If there is one force that stirs up the most trouble, it’s weather. Something as simple as how dry, hot, cold or wet it is outside can...

Shooting near COCC campus: who was notified?

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) When a shooting occurred near the Central Oregon Community College in early January, security around campus sent out notifications to students and faculty warning them to avoid...

Beyond COCC

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Here at Central Oregon Community College, many traditional students plan on transferring to a four year university once their time here is done. However, many students struggle...

Central Oregon has hope for the ocean

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) According to the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, 26 percent of all CO2 emissions are absorbed by the oceans. The first step in saving the oceans is taking...

Meet the student voices of COCC

By Aidan Hinckle | The Broadside (Contact: ahinckle@cocc.edu) Makenzie Hice: President of ASCOCC (Contact: ascocc.president@cocc.edu) Aidan Hinckle: Tell me a little about yourself. Where are you from? What’s your background? Makenzie Hice: I was born in Gilroy,...

Dia De Los Muertos in Central Oregon

Photos and Article By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A day to commemorate the dead in a way that would celebrate the lives of the deceased. Dia De Los Muertos is an annual...