Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Get competitive: Find your sport at COCC

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) Here at Central Oregon Community College, we have two primary sporting opportunities for students: intramural sports, which are credit-based classes that are noncompetitive, and club sports, which...

Psychology students cancel plans for field study program

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Four Central Oregon Community College students had to cancel their plans for a field study program in Indonesia due to a lack of funds. Assistant Professor of...

Rugby game highlights

Saturday October 21: COCC Bobcats 22, Oregon Tech Owls 7

Campus festival celebrates Year of the Dog

By Isaac Messinger and Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu and kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On the 15th day of the first month in the lunisolar year, people worldwide celebrated the Spring Lantern Festival, a Chinese holiday that...

Not in our town

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) In conjunction with their commitment toward A Season for Nonviolence, the Central Oregon Community College Multicultural Activities Coalition created an opportunity for the community to discuss their...

Cold, dark, and quiet: Central Oregon caves

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Central Oregon has many natural wonders, including any number of caves. Due to the volcanic climate, the landscape is covered in lava-formed cave systems. These caves offer...

Race heats up for seat representing C.O.

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In a representative democracy, representatives are chosen to make governing decisions on the people's behalf. In the case of Central Oregon, which is situated square in the...

Getting to know your campus: The origins of COCC’s building names

By Adam Case| The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Walking around the campus, have you ever wondered, ‘Why is the campus center named Coats?’ This and any other questions about the names of  buildings on campus can...

Review: “Love, Simon” (SPOILERS)

By Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu) LGBTQ+ representation in films and TV was once limited to one flamboyant, over-the-top, token gay character. I’ve grown up in a time to see the transition from...