Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Rugby game highlights

Saturday October 21: COCC Bobcats 22, Oregon Tech Owls 7

Get competitive: Find your sport at COCC

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) Here at Central Oregon Community College, we have two primary sporting opportunities for students: intramural sports, which are credit-based classes that are noncompetitive, and club sports, which...

Not in our town

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) In conjunction with their commitment toward A Season for Nonviolence, the Central Oregon Community College Multicultural Activities Coalition created an opportunity for the community to discuss their...

Campus festival celebrates Year of the Dog

By Isaac Messinger and Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu and kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On the 15th day of the first month in the lunisolar year, people worldwide celebrated the Spring Lantern Festival, a Chinese holiday that...

Review: “Love, Simon” (SPOILERS)

By Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu) LGBTQ+ representation in films and TV was once limited to one flamboyant, over-the-top, token gay character. I’ve grown up in a time to see the transition from...

Generation Columbine

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Those born on or after the year 1999, are being referred to as “Generation Columbine.” Isn’t that sad? School hallways should not be a place where you feel...

Understanding the relativity of privilege

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Over the years, I've worked with students from all corners of this state and country, ranging from the rich to the poor, the apologists, and the dreamer,...

A very tasty child

By Spencer Light | The Broadside (Contact: slight@cocc.edu) It’s funny how the simplest of beginnings — a small deed, some kind words, or even a genuine smile —  can form a relationship with the potential...

Cold, dark, and quiet: Central Oregon caves

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Central Oregon has many natural wonders, including any number of caves. Due to the volcanic climate, the landscape is covered in lava-formed cave systems. These caves offer...