Wednesday, August 10, 2022
HomeArchivesDiversity Achievement Awards

Diversity Achievement Awards

Several faculty, administrators,
and students, were
honored at the annual campus
Diversity Achievement
Awards. The ceremony took
place on Tuesday,at the
Coats Campus Center on the
Central Oregon Community
College Bend Campus.
The award honors students
and faculty from all
backgrounds and walks of
life who have “made a difference
in the community of
COCC,” according to Karen
Roth, COCC multicultural
This year, the committee
members in charge of
the direction of the multicultural
program honored
Roth for her commitment
to students success and her
achievements in spreading
multicultural awareness
throughout COCC.
Alicia Moore, Dean of
students, spoke on behalf
of President Dr. Shirley
Metcalf, praising the multicultural
team on “their passion
and commitment” and
thanked the honored students
and faculty for their
“hard work and dedication
which make COCC a place
that welcomes any and all
This year, Roth presented
the awards to COCC
student Mable Jackson,
president of the First Nation
Student Union, and to OSUCascades
student Damaris
Monroy, ASCC secretary.
The faculty award was presented
to both Amy Howell
and Angie Cole from the
early childhood education
department. Other honored
staff included Professor Andria
Woodell, Malissa Hice,
Taran Smith, Layla Solar
and Lura Reed. While honored
students included Denia
Campbell, Tyrone Cole,
Kristina Derksen, Jim ginn,
and Carlos Vazquez.


Brayan Gonzalez | The Broadside
(Contact: bgonzalez@cocc.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Other Articles