Saturday, December 7, 2019

“Dateline” NBC covers COCC tragedy

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) Central Oregon faced a tragedy in July of 2016 in the sexual assault and murder of Kaylee Sawyer on the Central Oregon Community College Bend campus. With...

Three unopposed candidates fill ASCOCC positions for 2018-19

By Katya Agatucci and Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu & hwelbourn@cocc.edu) The Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College elections have officially closed, and the 2018-2019 council has been elected. The three positions that were...

Oregon Promise to reach more students with budget adjustment

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) During a nationwide discussion of what should be done over the rising price of education, Oregon took a unique step in implementing the Oregon Promise grant. The...

Psychology students cancel plans for field study program

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Four Central Oregon Community College students had to cancel their plans for a field study program in Indonesia due to a lack of funds. Assistant Professor of...

Race heats up for seat representing C.O.

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In a representative democracy, representatives are chosen to make governing decisions on the people's behalf. In the case of Central Oregon, which is situated square in the...

ASCOCC elections approach

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In the midst of the “Vote OR Vote” campaign on campus and the beginnings of the 2018 midterm congressional elections, it can be easy to miss smaller...

Attempted theft on campus heightens student awareness

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) At the beginning of spring term, students were notified of an “attempted assault” that was later relabeled an “attempted theft” at Central Oregon Community College, reported by a student....

Local voices speak out on possible end to DACA

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) This presidential term is one full of changes at a moment’s notice; on September 5, President Donald Trump announced the end of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals,...

Student government looks ahead to upcoming elections

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) The students behind Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College push for the betterment of COCC’s students, with a mission to “Represent and serve all students by...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...