Friday, June 5, 2020

ASCOCC elections approach

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In the midst of the “Vote OR Vote” campaign on campus and the beginnings of the 2018 midterm congressional elections, it can be easy to miss smaller...

Understanding the relativity of privilege

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Over the years, I've worked with students from all corners of this state and country, ranging from the rich to the poor, the apologists, and the dreamer,...

A very tasty child

By Spencer Light | The Broadside (Contact: slight@cocc.edu) It’s funny how the simplest of beginnings — a small deed, some kind words, or even a genuine smile —  can form a relationship with the potential...

Attempted theft on campus heightens student awareness

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) At the beginning of spring term, students were notified of an “attempted assault” that was later relabeled an “attempted theft” at Central Oregon Community College, reported by a student....

Review: “Love, Simon” (SPOILERS)

By Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu) LGBTQ+ representation in films and TV was once limited to one flamboyant, over-the-top, token gay character. I’ve grown up in a time to see the transition from...

Student government looks ahead to upcoming elections

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) The students behind Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College push for the betterment of COCC’s students, with a mission to “Represent and serve all students by...

Health care options remain scarce on campus

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Some may find it a bit unusual that a man is discussing health concerns for women on campus, but in my world it's an everyday occurrence. Growing...

What’s up with that coffee hut?

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) A small structure located in the upper campus next to Jefferson used to be a well-known food and coffee kiosk that is now abandoned. The structure has...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...