Wednesday, February 26, 2020

A very tasty child

By Spencer Light | The Broadside (Contact: slight@cocc.edu) It’s funny how the simplest of beginnings — a small deed, some kind words, or even a genuine smile —  can form a relationship with the potential...

Cold, dark, and quiet: Central Oregon caves

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Central Oregon has many natural wonders, including any number of caves. Due to the volcanic climate, the landscape is covered in lava-formed cave systems. These caves offer...

Local voices speak out on possible end to DACA

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) This presidential term is one full of changes at a moment’s notice; on September 5, President Donald Trump announced the end of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals,...

Kicking off spring term with an all-inclusive dance

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) Wille Hall was filled with students, paper flower decorations, music and dancing for an all-inclusive spring fling hosted by the LGBTQ+ club Saturday night. Dana Thomas, club member,...

Student government looks ahead to upcoming elections

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) The students behind Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College push for the betterment of COCC’s students, with a mission to “Represent and serve all students by...

Moments in-between and metamorphis: Lloyd McMullen

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A childhood interest in found objects led artist Lloyd McMullen to center a one-person exhibit around it. As a child, McMullen and her twin sister lived on...

Review: “Love, Simon” (SPOILERS)

By Hannah Welbourn | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu) LGBTQ+ representation in films and TV was once limited to one flamboyant, over-the-top, token gay character. I’ve grown up in a time to see the transition from...

Generation Columbine

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Those born on or after the year 1999, are being referred to as “Generation Columbine.” Isn’t that sad? School hallways should not be a place where you feel...

Not in our town

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) In conjunction with their commitment toward A Season for Nonviolence, the Central Oregon Community College Multicultural Activities Coalition created an opportunity for the community to discuss their...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...