Sunday, August 18, 2019

Student government looks ahead to upcoming elections

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) The students behind Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College push for the betterment of COCC’s students, with a mission to “Represent and serve all students by...

Moments in-between and metamorphis: Lloyd McMullen

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A childhood interest in found objects led artist Lloyd McMullen to center a one-person exhibit around it. As a child, McMullen and her twin sister lived on...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...

Gun control: Is this what we should be teaching teachers?

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Following the Parkland, Fla. shooting, controversy spread across the country, as people were fed up with the lack of change in regulations surrounding gun violence. “With a...

Local professor offers insight into the brains of serial killers

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) How is a serial killer created? A recent talk by Rebecca Walker-Sands, professor of psychology, shed some insight into the things which drives some to perform the most...

Campus festival celebrates Year of the Dog

By Isaac Messinger and Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu and kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On the 15th day of the first month in the lunisolar year, people worldwide celebrated the Spring Lantern Festival, a Chinese holiday that...

Reverence for civil rights movement figures: “The Meeting”

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: katyaagatucci2@cocc.edu) In honor of the 10th Season of Nonviolence, members of the Afrocentric Studies Club came together to perform a play recognizing the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther...

Bend’s best bagels

Bagels are arguably one of the most versatile foods -- they can be made into a breakfast, lunch, snack, dinner, or even dessert. As busy college students and journalists, we at The Broadside are...

Letting Go: A lifetime as an artist transformed

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A year’s-worth of artwork was thrown away when Mark Edward Fuller decided that the pieces created to be presented in March’s one-person exhibition did not speak to...

The Relentless Flu

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Flu season: tissue piles become endless, coughs echo the classrooms, and NyQuil becomes your best friend. What is commonly characterized as a sore throat, fever, chills and headache,...