Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Campus festival celebrates Year of the Dog

By Isaac Messinger and Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu and kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On the 15th day of the first month in the lunisolar year, people worldwide celebrated the Spring Lantern Festival, a Chinese holiday that...

Getting to know your campus: The origins of COCC’s building names

By Adam Case| The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Walking around the campus, have you ever wondered, ‘Why is the campus center named Coats?’ This and any other questions about the names of  buildings on campus can...

Oregon Promise to reach more students with budget adjustment

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) During a nationwide discussion of what should be done over the rising price of education, Oregon took a unique step in implementing the Oregon Promise grant. The...

Local voices speak out on possible end to DACA

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) This presidential term is one full of changes at a moment’s notice; on September 5, President Donald Trump announced the end of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals,...

Student government looks ahead to upcoming elections

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) The students behind Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College push for the betterment of COCC’s students, with a mission to “Represent and serve all students by...

Moments in-between and metamorphis: Lloyd McMullen

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A childhood interest in found objects led artist Lloyd McMullen to center a one-person exhibit around it. As a child, McMullen and her twin sister lived on...

Attempted theft on campus heightens student awareness

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) At the beginning of spring term, students were notified of an “attempted assault” that was later relabeled an “attempted theft” at Central Oregon Community College, reported by a student....

Sprouting up sustainability this spring

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To share in the excitement of warm months approaching and the crops that come along with it, farmers and ranchers from around Deschutes, Crook, and Jefferson counties...

Fiesta Celebración filled with food, festivities, and fun

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) As Mexican music sang out and dancers tapped across the floor, the annual Latino “Fiesta Celebración” held in Central Oregon Community College’s Coats Campus Center celebrated Mexican culture...

Giving students the mic

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To celebrate National Poetry Month, Wickiup Hall was packed on April 19 as poets and performers presented their original or recited work in an open mic night....