Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Reverence for civil rights movement figures: “The Meeting”

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: katyaagatucci2@cocc.edu) In honor of the 10th Season of Nonviolence, members of the Afrocentric Studies Club came together to perform a play recognizing the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther...

Local voices speak out on possible end to DACA

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) This presidential term is one full of changes at a moment’s notice; on September 5, President Donald Trump announced the end of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals,...

Bend’s best burritos

Bend Provides a huge selection of delicious burritos, but how do you know if you're getting the most out of your money? With so many options it can be hard to decide where to...

Student government looks ahead to upcoming elections

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) The students behind Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College push for the betterment of COCC’s students, with a mission to “Represent and serve all students by...

Attempted theft on campus heightens student awareness

By Ezra Neumann | The Broadside (Contact: eneumann2@cocc.edu) At the beginning of spring term, students were notified of an “attempted assault” that was later relabeled an “attempted theft” at Central Oregon Community College, reported by a student....

Moments in-between and metamorphis: Lloyd McMullen

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A childhood interest in found objects led artist Lloyd McMullen to center a one-person exhibit around it. As a child, McMullen and her twin sister lived on...

Fiesta Celebración filled with food, festivities, and fun

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) As Mexican music sang out and dancers tapped across the floor, the annual Latino “Fiesta Celebración” held in Central Oregon Community College’s Coats Campus Center celebrated Mexican culture...

Sprouting up sustainability this spring

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To share in the excitement of warm months approaching and the crops that come along with it, farmers and ranchers from around Deschutes, Crook, and Jefferson counties...

Thousands attend Central Oregon March For Our Lives

Story By Hannah Welbourn, Photos By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: hwelbourn@cocc.edu, kagatucci2@cocc.edu) "Our minds, which are programmed to protect our children, are also programmed to find numbers like 13,823 simply too big to...

Psychology students cancel plans for field study program

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Four Central Oregon Community College students had to cancel their plans for a field study program in Indonesia due to a lack of funds. Assistant Professor of...