Thursday, February 22, 2018

A good first step into EMS

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) Central Oregon Community College has a lot of opportunities for students and staff to get involved. For those involved in seeking a profession in Emergency Services, the...

COCC effort to diversify the campus

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: Mlegrand2@cocc.edu) What is Central Oregon Community College doing to diversify its instructional staff and student population? After spending time with Dr. Shirley Metcalf discussing the matter, it’s a...

Opinion: most useful study apps for students

By Joshua Cook | The Broadside (Contact: jcook4@cocc.edu) When it comes down to it, trying to study and remember a ton of facts from all of your classes can be extremely troublesome. Trying to memorize seemingly...

Opinion: Pristine parks but not paradise

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Upon moving to Bend from Honolulu, Hawaii, I noticed almost immediately how clean and well-kept the town was. From the lack of trash covering the sidewalks, to...

How a hashtag sparked a social movement

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) One act, two words and one influential figure can start a social movement. In the middle of October, a hashtag went viral after actress Alyssa Milano tweeted...

How to be green in the dorms

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) College students, especially those living in campus housing, can easily reduce their carbon footprint in a few easy steps. Bend takes pride in their local stores, cafes, and...

Fueling your finals week

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) Finals week. Two words that, when put together, can make even the toughest person squirm in their shoes. ​As Central Oregon Community College winds down on its fall...

Opinion: Our conditioned response to scandal

By Connor Davenport | The Broadside (Contact: cdavenport@cocc.edu) In a world of stories being called “fake news,” there is one thing that the news creates, and it’s hard to avoid. It’s conditioning us with a...

Cabin fever: shows to stream when you’re snowed in

The Broadside Staff (Contact: thebroadside.cocc@gmail.com) Check out our staff recommendations, perfect for cozy-ing up this winter break.  

Opinion: The Probability of Fear

By Connor Davenport | The Broadside (Contact: cdavenport@cocc.edu) On a daily occurrence, cable news streamlines bold words across the bottom of the screen in the mid-afternoon, touting phrases that signal that the world is ending....