Monday, October 22, 2018

Giving students the mic

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To celebrate National Poetry Month, Wickiup Hall was packed on April 19 as poets and performers presented their original or recited work in an open mic night....

Fiesta Celebración filled with food, festivities, and fun

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) As Mexican music sang out and dancers tapped across the floor, the annual Latino “Fiesta Celebración” held in Central Oregon Community College’s Coats Campus Center celebrated Mexican culture...

Sprouting up sustainability this spring

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To share in the excitement of warm months approaching and the crops that come along with it, farmers and ranchers from around Deschutes, Crook, and Jefferson counties...

Moments in-between and metamorphis: Lloyd McMullen

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A childhood interest in found objects led artist Lloyd McMullen to center a one-person exhibit around it. As a child, McMullen and her twin sister lived on...

Campus festival celebrates Year of the Dog

By Isaac Messinger and Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: imessinger@cocc.edu and kagatucci2@cocc.edu) On the 15th day of the first month in the lunisolar year, people worldwide celebrated the Spring Lantern Festival, a Chinese holiday that...

Reverence for civil rights movement figures: “The Meeting”

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: katyaagatucci2@cocc.edu) In honor of the 10th Season of Nonviolence, members of the Afrocentric Studies Club came together to perform a play recognizing the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther...

Letting Go: A lifetime as an artist transformed

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A year’s-worth of artwork was thrown away when Mark Edward Fuller decided that the pieces created to be presented in March’s one-person exhibition did not speak to...

Winter-Themed Festival: Oregon WinterFest’s 19th Anniversary

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) From a fire-pit competition with a flame-breathing dragon sculpture, 600-pound blocks of ice being carved, and adventure obstacle courses, Oregon WinterFest returned for its 19th year. An...

From Westeros to a galaxy far, far away

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) It was recently announced by Disney that a new “Star Wars” trilogy will be created and produced by Daniel Brett Weiss and David Benioff, the producers of...

COCC’s gallery of trees

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Did you know that Central Oregon Community College is an arboretum? What is an arboretum? It’s “a designated collection of trees and other woody plants that are...