Sunday, April 22, 2018

From Westeros to a galaxy far, far away

By Nolan Wironen | The Broadside (Contact: nwironen@cocc.edu) It was recently announced by Disney that a new “Star Wars” trilogy will be created and produced by Daniel Brett Weiss and David Benioff, the producers of...

COCC’s gallery of trees

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Did you know that Central Oregon Community College is an arboretum? What is an arboretum? It’s “a designated collection of trees and other woody plants that are...

An art exhibit motivated from natures perfect designs, patterns and colors

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) “To me, these pieces are alive. If you cracked open in the spring, they would grow.” -Lynn Rothan, featured artist Lynn Rothan and her inspiration from nature’s natural...

COCC campus’ natural diversity creates wildlife melting pot

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) If you attend classes around campus, you know that there is a resident deer family on campus. The deer who waltz around the upper campus are completely...

Weird science: author Mary Roach comes to Bend

By Tim Neville | The Broadside (Contact: tneville2@cocc.edu) In case you were ever wondering, the hardest part about shrinking a head — as in “a shrunken head” — isn’t making it small, but taking the...

Promoting art on campus: faculty exhibition showcases work in unexpected places

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) The upper campus of Central Oregon Community College was lucky enough to display an art walk featuring the art instructors on campus on Nov. 16. Bill Hoppe,...

Bike mechanics and fine art collide

By Aidan Hinckle | The Broadside (Contact: ahinckle2@cocc.edu) Elaborate animals composed of various metals, industrialized kinetic sculptures, and psychedelic paintings all with a passing resemblance to bicycle mechanics. These are what you will find in Bend...

Native American heritage month

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) National Native American heritage month is a time to celebrate the culture and history of the Native people in the United States, as well as an occasion...

Review: BendFilm festival awards young filmmakers

By: Marcus Legrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) The BendFilm Festival Young Filmmakers competition winner Braxton Hangen’s, film, Do Not Disturb shows him leaving the confines of his computer to spend a day disengaged, roughen’...

College gallery showcases scrapyard sculptor

Courtesy of Central Oregon Community College Relations Bend artist Chris Cole’s imaginative kinetic sculptures (think: glowing-eyed metallic fish made from cast-off mechanical parts) and abstract paintings will be on exhibit at Central Oregon Community College’s...