Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Sprouting up sustainability this spring

By Emma Kaohi | The Broadside (Contact: ekaohi@cocc.edu) To share in the excitement of warm months approaching and the crops that come along with it, farmers and ranchers from around Deschutes, Crook, and Jefferson counties...

Moments in-between and metamorphis: Lloyd McMullen

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) A childhood interest in found objects led artist Lloyd McMullen to center a one-person exhibit around it. As a child, McMullen and her twin sister lived on...

Psychology students cancel plans for field study program

By Adam Case | The Broadside (Contact: acase@cocc.edu) Four Central Oregon Community College students had to cancel their plans for a field study program in Indonesia due to a lack of funds. Assistant Professor of...

Oregon Promise to reach more students with budget adjustment

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) During a nationwide discussion of what should be done over the rising price of education, Oregon took a unique step in implementing the Oregon Promise grant. The...

The Moon’s Biggest Fan — Me, it’s me.

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: kagatucci2@cocc.edu) Many people my age are obsessed with different aspects of pop culture: jokes about eating Tide pods, whatever new song Cardi B just regurgitated, or the new...

Reverence for civil rights movement figures: “The Meeting”

By Katya Agatucci | The Broadside (Contact: katyaagatucci2@cocc.edu) In honor of the 10th Season of Nonviolence, members of the Afrocentric Studies Club came together to perform a play recognizing the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther...

Race heats up for seat representing C.O.

By Miles Flynn | The Broadside (Contact: mflynn@cocc.edu) In a representative democracy, representatives are chosen to make governing decisions on the people's behalf. In the case of Central Oregon, which is situated square in the...

Understanding the relativity of privilege

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) Over the years, I've worked with students from all corners of this state and country, ranging from the rich to the poor, the apologists, and the dreamer,...

A very tasty child

By Spencer Light | The Broadside (Contact: slight@cocc.edu) It’s funny how the simplest of beginnings — a small deed, some kind words, or even a genuine smile —  can form a relationship with the potential...

Not in our town

By Marcus LeGrand | The Broadside (Contact: mlegrand2@cocc.edu) In conjunction with their commitment toward A Season for Nonviolence, the Central Oregon Community College Multicultural Activities Coalition created an opportunity for the community to discuss their...