Saturday, March 23, 2019

Contact The Broadside

The Broadside broadsidemail@cocc.edu 2600 NW College Way Bend, OR 97701 Campus Center Room 102 (541)383-7252 Editor-in-Chief Cedar Goslin cgoslin@cocc.edu Managing Editor Jarred Graham jlgraham@cocc.edu Assistant Editor Scott Greenstone sgreenstone@cocc.edu Production Manager Noah Hughes nmhughes@cocc.edu Multimedia Editor Anna Quesenberry aquesenberry@cocc.edu Photography Editor Stephen Badger sbadger@cocc.edu Features Editor Molly Svendsen msvendsen@cocc.edu Advisor Leon Pantenburg lpantenburg@cocc.edu

Lessons From the Path Less Travelled

The Pacific Crest Trail (PCT) spans 2,650 miles of backcountry forests, mountains and deserts along the west coast of the United States from the Mexican border to Canada. "The trail is about more than mountains...

Oregon Promise Faces Uncertain Future

Oregon Promise, the source of many Central Oregon Community College students’ financial aid, may be facing large funding cuts or worse, the program may be completely cut from the list of programs funded by...

Increased expenses may mean increase in tech fee

Tobey Veenstra The  Broadside With the growing amount of technology expenditures at Central Oregon Community College, the college may be discussing new ways to fund the Information Technology Services department. One of the options includes increasing...

Women And STEM Careers

Despite improvements women still are a minority in jobs pertaining to Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. According to a 2005 survey from the American Association of University Women, only 15 percent of women in...

Internet brings new meaning to the concept a veil of ignorance

Bethany Hargrove The Broadside The Internet is notorious both for good and bad things. Pro: Staying connected. Con: Trolling and flame wars. Pro: Easy sharing of ideas. Con:Cyber-bullying . Pro: Finding people and things you never could have without...

Giving back to the community over break

Looking for a way to spend that extra free time over winter break and be able to help those in need? Look into some of these ideas.   1. Volunteer at a soup kitchen or homeless...

COCC students support multiple sclerosis sufferers

Over 2 million individuals are affected by multiple sclerosis worldwide On Saturday April 19, hundreds of walkers clad in bright green and orange filled Riverbend Park to confront Multiple Sclerosis. The Bend Walk for MS,...

College gallery showcases scrapyard sculptor

Courtesy of Central Oregon Community College Relations Bend artist Chris Cole’s imaginative kinetic sculptures (think: glowing-eyed metallic fish made from cast-off mechanical parts) and abstract paintings will be on exhibit at Central Oregon Community College’s...

Get your team together

    Hey On The Side, What would be the costof starting a Club football team at COCC? Thanks, Sports Fan Hey Sports Fan, what a great question. Matthew Coito, from the Associated Students of Central Oregon Community College is the...